Discussion:EA Exam Review Courses

From TaxAlmanac, A Free Online Resource for Tax Professionals
Note: You are using this website at your own risk, subject to our Disclaimer and Website Use and Contribution Terms.

From TaxAlmanac

Jump to: navigation, search

Discussion Forum Index --> Business Growth Community --> EA Exam Review Courses


GrinnenTL (talk|edits) said:

20 May 2008
ok, I am ready to take the plunge and become an EA. I know I need to study but how do I choose what course to take?

If you've been there, done that, what course worked for you? It's oh so hard to make a decision after tax season....

Riley2 (talk|edits) said:

21 May 2008
Take a look at Gleim. He has a 35-year track record in test prep. I used him for the CPA exam. Passed right out of school.

TheTinCook (talk|edits) said:

21 May 2008
Gleim is the best. I only used the books and got through it in one try.

Snowbird (talk|edits) said:

21 May 2008
There have been several threads before ... IMHO, it depends on your learning style, how long you have been out of the classroom and your tax experience. If you are used to reading a lot of dry material and taking exams, Gleim and other are great. But, if like me, you been away from school and taxes for a lot of years, another approach may be more helpful. I am an audio visual learner ... I used Arthur Reed's lecture package from Lambers that include the WiseGuides book and self-testing software. Here is a link to page that provides a sample of his lecture videos Arthur Reed I went at this like a job, creating a study timetable and tracked my progress. By the time I was done ... I invested about 100hrs but passed on the first try ... back when it was a two day exam.

Snowbird 07:58, 21 May 2008 (CDT)

ThinkTax (talk|edits) said:

21 May 2008
Another vote for Gleim. Used their materials for both the EA and CPA exams.

OR Taxman (talk|edits) said:

22 May 2008
I used Gleim for the EA exam a year ago and liked it, if what you need mostly is quick review and practice tests. I used both the books and the electronic/on-line versions. The tracking and statistical info provided with the results of the practice tests was helpful.

Lalva (talk|edits) said:

22 May 2008
I am using Gleim and I like it. I'll tell you in a few months if I pass the first time :)

A very knowledgeable tax preparer that I know told me once, after being asked why she wasn't an EA, that she didn't want to be audited for the priviledge of being one. Is that true, that we applicants to EA are going to be audited? Or is it more like a quick look to see that we are filing tax returns?

I applied to become an autorized e-file provider and I had to be fingerprinted and pass a background check (FBI). Is it something similar?

Donniecastleman (talk|edits) said:

22 May 2008
Used Arthur Reed stuff from Lambers and passed the first time, also got to have coffee with Arthur when he was in Vegas, really cool down to earth guy, I honestly would have paid twice as much to take the course and would have been happy to have taken his course. To be an EA you have to have your tax returns all filed and all tax liabilities paid, plus a background check which isn't that big a deal, the Efile background check was the one that needed fingerprints and a more extensive background check.

NYEA (talk|edits) said:

22 May 2008
The National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA) has entered into a joint venture with Gleim to do an on-line SEE prep course that will have NAEA instructors to help the candidates as they proceed through the on-line sessions. It is my understanding this is scheduled to roll out on or about August 1.

I do not know all the details but I might suggest that if anyone is interested in learning more about this, send an e-mail to Sam Matlick (NAEA's Director of Membership Services). She can be reached at smatlick@naea.org

GrinnenTL (talk|edits) said:

22 May 2008
Thanks for all your input. I feel like I am going from the firepan into the fire. Just got through tax season and now to the library to study! Can't get any studying done at the office or at home.

Looks like Gleim is the way to go!

Lmcdon9822 (talk|edits) said:

23 May 2008
Can't study at home??? I went through MS in Information Systems, Producers Exam, Series 6 and 63 (twice!! first round I did not do any business so my license was terminated) and now studying for Series 65. All with full time job, stay at home wife and 3 kids! Try studying with Barney blasing in the background, wife on the phone and boys play fighting. I may have failed if I went to the library. I plan on passing the 65 this year and then on to the EA exam. I guess the Gleim's have it!

To join in on this discussion, you must first log in.
Personal tools